Archive for October 6, 2011

I don’t work harder……   Leave a comment

Ok, I’d be very honest here. I am in the office while writing this post.

My office mate sitting next to me at this very moment needs at least 12 more hours for today to finish everything that she needs to do. Which brought me to two options (now at least I have something to do while using company resources). One: she has really lot of things to do. Two: Time Management.

I don’t

 

want to brag that I can finish my job well ahead of time. I don’t want to say either that I do not have that much load.  Well..I’d say that I do my job and I manage my time well (what? 🙂

You see, I’ve graduated from the belief that we all have to work harder. Some can, if they so desire. But for the rest, which I am included, I’d decided to work smarter. And for me, working smarter means finishing the job ahead of time plus having enough time to do things that I enjoy doing….like blogging:-) Isn’t that smart?

With all honestly, my job requires a lot of communication, coordination, emails and telephone calls. Yes, including overseas and over continents calls and Skype calls, too.

And I don’t forget the power of emails, and I don;t forget to cc my Boss, too so that I am visible and that I am working. Of course, it doesn’t end there but i guess you see the point, yeah?

I also don’t spend much time on Facebook. I don’t speak for the entire Facebook members of course but I feel that my time is not being reciprocated by signing in at FB while I could have learned a lot by visiting other websites or reading other blogs or writing in this blog, for example.

Also, I am well aware that I do not have the best English communication skills in the world, attributing partly to the fact that it is not my mother tongue, but that doesn’t stop me and instead prompted me to spend the most available time I can get in enhancing my English. I do hope I am doing it the right way.

As I am nearing the end of this post, I feel kind of guilty as I can leave the office now and relax in my place while she needs to stay up to time I don’t know when. To balance it out, we all have 24 hours in a day..the manner in how we spend those hours could probably be the one making the difference. Or probably the desire to have a life outside the office is also driving me to finish what I have to finish, earlier than scheduled and expected. But I’m not saying I’m that great. I’m just saying I use my time appropriately.

Guilty as I am, I don’t work harder..I hope I am working smarter.

 

 

 

Posted October 6, 2011 by kimberlu78 in Uncategorized